Travel documents


There are no longer any frontier controls at the borders between 22 EU countries. This is thanks to the Schengen rules which are part of EU law.These rules remove all internal border controls but put in place effective controls at the external borders of the EU and introduce a common visa policy. All EU countries are full Schengen members except for Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom. Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland are also Schengen members but are not in the EU.

The only document that can confirms identity and nationality and therefore entitles a person to cross a border is a passport
ID card
You will therefore need to present a valid passport or ID card when travelling to the five non-Schengen countries and when entering or leaving the EU at the external borders. Carry them when travelling in the EU because they may be required for identification or security purposes. Be aware that the only valid ID is the one obtained from national authorities.
A visa is required for travel to certain countries. Contact your travel agency or the country's embassy for more information about visas and their application process.
f your visa is from a country fully applying the Schengen rules, it automatically allows you to travel to the other Schengen countries as well. Moreover, if you have a valid residence permit from one of those Schengen countries, it is equivalent to a visa. You may need a national visa to visit non-Schengen countries.  


TRAVEL DOCUMENTS required for Polish citizens on domestic flights
Passengers travelling on domestic flights are required to hold:
  • a document confirming their identity (valid identity card, passport or driver's license).

Note: in the case of international flights a driver's license is not a document confirming identity and is not respected at safety and document control.